Outside

Today I went hiking.

hiking

Loudoun Heights Trail: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia

I’ve been talking about hiking quite a bit lately, I know. As a through-and-through city girl, who would have thought I’d become so enchanted by nature?

Yet I have been. I feel more like myself out there. It’s something in the steady moving, the heavy breathing. The feeling of being immersed in greens and blues and yellows and browns. The pausing to take note of a turtle trundling along the side of the trail. The taste of a peanut butter and jelly sandwich, slightly squished and salted by the sweat on your hands, when lunch is eaten with a view. It makes you glad to be alive, to be yourself, where you are. And though I am without a doubt a girl of subways and crosswalks and concrete and steel, I am suddenly overwhelmed by a sneaking, at-first-sight kind of love with the out-of-doors. I’m nursing it like a crush, my mind rampaging wildly ahead of my cautious steps along the trail. I find myself daydreaming about far-fetched adventures, envisioning trips in the Rockies and thru-hiking the Appalachian Trail, much the way a lovelorn girl would picture sharing romantic evenings and passionate kisses with a boy she’s only just realizing she likes. It’s a little crazy, I know.

But lately, when I close my eyes, I see the dense green of forests and the outlines of mountains printed on the insides of my lids.

I feel like this video, which is from a baking blog I love, encapsulates how I feel about hiking perfectly. Someday I’d like to be on a meadow in the Rockies, spooning strawberry cobbler from a dutch oven while the sun sinks below the tree line.

All the same, running isn’t going anywhere. This week hasn’t been particularly interesting — just dogged progress through my training plan. I did a bit of a hill workout on Thursday — it wasn’t in my training plan, but I felt like it. And by hill workout, I mean that I ran in one of the hilliest neighborhoods in D.C. And tried not to let the inclines slow me down.

Tomorrow is my long run, so we’ll see how that goes. Enjoy your weekends, everyone. And go find yourselves outside!

Tags: , ,

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Leave a Reply

