DC Running

Welp, I’m back in DC for the summer, which means that my runs will start to feature fewer bridges and loops of Prospect Park and more monuments of dead presidents!

Unfortunately, it also means I’ll be running with a weather forecast that looks like this for the next three months:

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 9.02.49 PM

Yesterday — the day I moved into my new house in DC — the sun was blazing hot! Not the thing you need when you’re spending the day lifting heavy furniture and unpacking box after box of books. My roommate and I had woken super early to move our stuff before the heat of the day, but unfortunately that meant my run had to wait til the afternoon. I headed out around 6pm, hoping for cooler evening weather, but no such luck. It was still about 90 degrees, and my face was bright red and my whole body covered in sweat by the time I returned from a 4.5 mile loop around the Lincoln Memorial.

This morning I woke up at 6:30am, determined to avoid the sauna-like conditions of  Saturday’s run. It was well, well worth the early alarm! The temperatures were still slightly higher than comfortable (around 75 degrees) but the sky was a brilliant blue and every leaf seemed particularly green. The morning seemed made for running.

IMG_0495

The sun rises over campus!

IMG_0497

The Potomac looking peaceful

IMG_0498

Back to my old stomping grounds! A totally empty canal path at 7am on a Sunday.

Despite the beautiful scenery, it wasn’t an easy run. My legs have been feeling extremely sluggish and heavy of late. I don’t know if it’s because I’m out of shape, or adjusting to the heat, or what. But the 10.5 miles I ran this morning seemed uncharacteristically difficult. It worries me a bit that I finished a simple 10.5 mile run feeling like I couldn’t have kept going much longer. How am I going to do 18 and 20 milers in a few short months? Let alone 26.2?

Even though I’m still doing pretty low mileage (25 this week), I’ve scheduled in cutback weeks in my training plan every third week in order to prevent injury. I’m determined to make it through training for this marathon feeling healthy and maintaining my motivation, and I feel like keeping my mileage on the lower side is the way to do that. So here’s hoping the coming 2o mile week (and next two days off) will put some pep back in my legs. I’ve got my first speed workout of the training cycle planned for Wednesday (6 miles with three at tempo pace — around 8:15 min/mile) and I’m already feeling nervous about that pace goal.

Aaaannd here’s the week in running (and other exercise…): 25 miles total

Monday: 6 mile hike in New Jersey
Tuesday: Rest
Wednesday: 6 miles in Prospect Park
Thursday: 4 miles in Prospect Park
Friday: 12 mile bike ride
Saturday: 4.5 miles around the Lincoln Memorial
Sunday: 10.5 miles on the C&O canal path

Sorry it’s not a very interesting post today. I’m still in the base mileage period of training, so there’s really not much to report. Hopefully Wednesday’s tempo run will go well and inject a little excitement into these reports.

 

Tags: ,

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Leave a Reply

