Training Plan

Not much has happened since my last post, which is why I haven’t posted since then. I had a really good 6.5 mile run on Tuesday, during which I alternated 9min miles with 8:30 min miles. It wasn’t revolutionary or particularly fast (even by my slow standards) but it felt good. Today’s run was … less good. The park was full of a bunch of people going to Googa Mooga, this new music/food festival. I silently resented all of the skinny hipsters walking by in their maxi dresses and gladiator sandals as I chugged along in my sweaty t-shirt. Plus there were all these bikers going the wrong way around the park and I only nearly avoided being hit by one of them. Grrr. Clearly I have the temperament and inner soul of a judgmental 80 year old man. Or at least, I do when I’m running slowly and there’s sweat in my eyes.

Screen Shot 2013-05-17 at 5.33.45 PM

In other news, I also said I’d post my marathon training plan online. I still need to actually PUT it somewhere online (I’m a pen and paper kind of gal, so right now my schedule exists solely on a set of blank calendar pages I printed from the internet) but here’s the gist:

1. I’m doing a 19 week plan based on Hal Higdon’s intermediate 1 training plan. I added the extra week (it was originally 18) because I’m running a half 6 weeks out from my marathon rather than 9. I’m hoping to PR in this half marathon (is that too ambitious? maybe?) so I added the extra week in as a buffer and a mini-taper.

2. My goal time for this race is 4:10. That would allow me to run a little bit slower than a 9:30 minute pace, which is pretty much my easy run pace now. Yes, it’s a full 35 minutes off my current (and only) marathon time of 4:45, but that race was (A) my first (B) 80 degrees and (C) more disorganized and not very well spectated (as opposed to the Marine Corps, which is known as one of the best-run marathons in the country). I also didn’t incorporate any attempts at speedwork into my training for that race — all I wanted to do is finish. This time, I’m confident that if I train well and don’t get hurt, I can run a 4:10 marathon.

3. To that end, I’m going to incorporate more tempo runs and race pace workouts into my training. My mileage will be about the same as it was last year — about 45 miles per week at the peak of training — because I’m a busy college student and I think that heavy mileage is part of what led me to burn out towards the end of my training last time. I’d rather focus on quality rather than quantity. So every week I’m going to do a tempo run (8:15 min/mile pace) and incorporate some half marathon pace (8:30 min/mile) and marathon pace (9:30 min/mile) running into my long runs.

4. CROSS TRAINING! I did NOT do this last time and I definitely regret it. Things like yoga, weight lifting and swimming are so important to training different parts of your mind and your body when you’re running so much. Luckily, I am working as a lifeguard at an outdoor pool this summer, so I’m hoping to get in the habit of swimming there whenever I can. I also want to try and commit to a weekly yoga class and a weekly strength training session. The swimming and yoga should be easy, but I’m gonna have to come up with some ways to hold myself accountable for the strength training. I hate lifting weights. Got any tips?

So, what do you all thinking? Clearly I’m no expert, but I’m pretty happy with the plan I’ve sketched out for myself.

Hope you’re all looking forward to a great weekend, especially if you’re running the Brooklyn Half tomorrow. I’ll be out there cheering!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tags:

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Leave a Reply

