Pizza Pizza Pizza

I know that my last few posts have just been a continuous ode to the wonder that is New York City, but unfortunately (for anyone who’s reading, anyway) it’s gonna continue a bit longer.

I realized Monday that there was one thing missing from my list of amazing things about New York that I don’t really appreciate till I’m home: real life, thin crust, New York style pizza. Oooooh my gosh, pizza. You are one delicious substance. How I have missed your thin crust and delicately flavored sauce. It’s been far too long since I last sampled a slice of true New York pizza, a situation I set about rectifying Monday night with a veggie pie from Fornino in my neighborhood.

Folks, it was one happy reunion.

Image from the Fornino website

Fornino grills their pizza and drizzles it with olive oil and it was about one of the most delicious things I could have wished for on a cold and rainy Monday. Five thumbs up!

If that weren’t enough, after attending jury duty on Tuesday (I don’t have to serve on a jury! Yay! Free for another 8 years!) I met up with two friends from high school to grab dinner in the East Village. We went to a place called Motorino, which was very different from the Fornino-style pizza but also delicious. We shared one margherita pie and one with olives and mushrooms. Both were great.

On the running front, things haven’t been too exciting recently. I had a truly excellent run on Tuesday (possibly because I was cooped up inside the District courthouse all day for jury duty and was just excited to get moving again) and a pretty awful run this morning. Let’s compare the stats, shall we?

I didn’t really have any goals for this run. It wasn’t intended to be a speed workout or anything, but my legs were feeling pretty good so I decided to pick up the pace a little bit. The results? Pretty great! Four miles, one at a little over 5K pace, and half a mile at “Lets see how fast I can run this” pace (turns out, pretty darn fast!).

Having run so well yesterday, I set out with pretty high expectations for my actual workout this morning. I had hoped to do 6 X 800 meter repeats at 5K pace, with a 1 minute rest in between each of them. And I was going to do them in the park, because I am running a 5K there next weekend and want to practice the hills and things. Unfortunately, I woke up with terrible cramps this morning (sorry if this is TMI, but being a girl can kinda suck sometimes) and as soon as I headed out the door I knew a speed workout was just not going to happen. I forced myself to do a full loop of the park, but I did not enjoy it.

Ah well, you win some you lose some. My legs have been feeling kinda heavy and tired all day, and I’ve had a small but unsettling pain in my right knee since the Brooklyn Half on Saturday, so I’m going to take tomorrow off and try for the speed workout again on Friday. Instead, I’m planning on a bike ride up to the Upper West Side to get lunch with a friend and then a stop at the NY Public Library to pick up the 583970521 books I put on hold there during finals week (nerd alert: my primary procrastination techniques consisted of browsing the NYT list of “best books of 2011” and picking out which ones I want to read this summer). Top picks include Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach, and The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka. I am super excited.


Boy, do I have questions for you! What’s your favorite place to get pizza in NYC (or elsewhere)? Do you have any fun jury duty stories? Do you have a favorite workout to train for a 5K? What are you reading this summer? 

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Never Say Die « collegegirlontherun - May 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

