My Extremely Wild and Exciting Summer Life

Oh, it’s hopping.

First off, lets all just take a moment appreciate my supreme attractiveness during the Brooklyn Half on Saturday.

I can’t really figure out what I’m doing here? Philosophically scratching my chin? Yawning? Licking my fingers? Either way, I look extremely dissatisfied with the state of the world. And I need to wear more sunscreen.

Moving on. One might think that, given my total lack of responsibilities for the next four weeks (wheeee summer!) and the fact that I am currently residing in the most fabulous and exciting city in the world (some have even said it never sleeps), that I would take this opportunity to really let loose and live it up a bit. You know, go to some parties, visit a museum, at least stay up past 11 pm. Sadly, none of those things have happened. Instead, I’ve run a half marathon, gotten an HIV test (a prerequisite for my trip to Egypt) and submitted a visa application at the Egyptian consulate, and crunched numbers for my mom, who works from home. My dad actually asked me today whether I plan on having any fun at all during my summer break (for the record, the half marathon was fun. Not so much the HIV test or the number crunching.) And tomorrow, I get to report for jury duty. Whoopee! Not.

I will say, however, that the fact that I haven’t been able to enjoy New York these past few days means that I’m really starting to appreciate the little things that make this city such a wonderful place. Namely, the bagels (D.C. bagels are just round, flavorless blobs of dough with holes in the middle), the fact that the Sunday New York Times is 50 cents cheaper (oh Metropolitan Section, how I’ve missed you!), the Q express train (It took me 20 minutes to get from DeKalb Ave. to 57th street. It was a miracle!), and running in Prospect Park in the morning. Even this morning, when the heavens decided to open up halfway through my run and I got absolutely DRENCHED. I was literally wringing out my socks when I finished.

Unexciting though my life may be, it’s good to be home.

Have you done anything wild and exciting recently? What are the little things that make you happy?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “My Extremely Wild and Exciting Summer Life”

  1. Kelly says :

    I love little things like that! And, whenever i go home to visit i always miss the Sunday Styles and Metropolitan section badly. Hope you brought some good reading material for jury duty!

Leave a Reply

