New York!!!

Well, not only am I back in New York, but half marathon number 3 is done and in the books! I ran the Brooklyn Half Marathon this morning (fewer than 12 hours after arriving home from college, no less!)

I wasn’t feeling too hot (still fighting off a bout of food poisoning from the gross food in my college’s dining hall) and was forced to make a bathroom stop around mile 10, which I almost never do, so I kind of broke down towards the end of the race. I finished in exactly 2 hours and 1 minute, which is about 6 minutes off my PR, but still respectable. Plus, it was a really fun race (until my stomach decided to start acting up). Even though I love college, I miss my city a lot when I’m away. There’s literally no better way I can think of to celebrate coming home from school than running a race through my favorite borough.

Here are the splits. Things were going so well until mile 10! Ah, well. Better luck next time. Also, I have a full extra 0.1 mile going on here. Run the tangents Sarah!

My mom rode her bike out to Coney Island to meet me at the finish, and we took the F train home together. I never thought I’d say it, but I actually really miss taking the subway! It was so much fun to be on a train literally full to the brim of other runners (though we stunk up the car pretty bad, I have to say). Then we went to my favorite bakery in the entire world, Ladybird in Park Slope, and I got a blueberry oatmeal scone. It was the perfect post-race breakfast.

This afternoon, my uncle (he’s really my dad’s best friend but I call him my uncle because I’ve known him forever), who is actually kind of a hotshot in the theater business, took me to see a play on Broadway called Peter and the Starcatcher. It’s kind of a prequel to Peter Pan. We thought it was okay, not great, though I did like the female lead character. She was a smart cookie and pretty funny.

After the play, I kind of came home and crashed, only waking up to eat dinner and watch some of the Mets game with my dad. It’s been a busy day for my first full day at home, but lots of fun. And I am SO glad to be back in New York. I’m planning on having lots of city adventures during my free time before I go abroad next month!

Are you doing (slash did you do) any races in the nearish future? What’s your favorite post-race breakfast? Any advice on awesome places in New York to go during the summer? I have a whole month free!

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

3 responses to “New York!!!”

  1. Kelly says :

    congrats! It must feel great to be done with school and back in NYC for a bit! I’m sad I missed the BK half, but my goal half is next weekend (hooray!). Favorite post-race breakfast = toasted bagel with cream cheese. nom.

Leave a Reply

