Someone Stop Me Before I Do Something Stupid

So my mom called today. Apparently one of her friends who’s signed up to run the Brooklyn Half Marathon is injured, and she wants me to take her spot in the race.

On the one hand, this is awesome. The race is on my first full day at home from college (Even though I’m done with finals, I’m still at school right  to produce the graduation issue of the paper) and what better way to celebrate my homecoming than a race through my favorite borough?

On the other hand, it’s going to be really hard to convince myself not to RACE this race. It’s not a very good idea. I’m just getting back into regular running after the marathon, I haven’t trained for a half or even run more than 11 miles since the marathon (my running mileage totally dropped off during the last few weeks of school and finals), and I will be running after spending most of the day in the car driving home from school.

On the other other hand (apparently I have three hands now) I really want to race this race. It’s in Brooklyn, my favorite place in the entire universe, and ending a fantastic race at Coney Island seems like an awesome way to say hello to my favorite borough after a year of school.

Plus, look at this elevation profile. All downhill from mile 6 onwards! What is there not to love about that?

That hill from miles 4 to 5.8 looks scary, but it’s the one in Prospect Park, one that I run every day when I’m at home. I KNOW I can power up that hill. I do it all the time. I know this course, and I’ve run every bit of it at some point or another. Sounds like a recipe for a good race to me!

Not to mention the fact that even though I’m not training for a half marathon, I HAVE been training. I’ve had some really incredible runs — last Thursday I ran 8 miles at an 8:20 min/mile pace, including 3 miles at or below 7:50 min/mile. I’m faster than I’ve ever been, and my current half marathon PR is 1:54:43, which is about a 8:45 min/mile pace. I feel like, with training, I can definitely beat that sometime in the nearish future. The question is, is now the time to try? My brain says probs not, but my legs are saying GO!

In the meantime, I am fully enjoying my last week at college before summer (and summer classes) kick in. It’s so much fun being at college when you don’t have to work. Like a giant sleepover! Aside from working on the newspaper, there’s been a lot of movie-watching, baking, eating junk food, general traipsing around D.C., and probably more partying than is healthy the week of a half marathon (perhaps another reason why maybe I shouldn’t try and PR on Saturday?)

What do you guys think? To race or not to race? I’m thinking I’ll see how I’m feeling on race day. I’ll start off conservative, around 8:55 to 9 min/mile pace, and if I’m feeling good by the time I hit the park, I’ll pick it up. Either way, I’m pumped for this race! Is anyone else running?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

4 responses to “Someone Stop Me Before I Do Something Stupid”

  1. embenton says :

    You have a free entry? Do it! At the very least, it would be a good workout. 🙂

  2. michelle marie says :

    RUN IT. That’s the best thing about halfs– it’s not a long enough distance to slaughter you, and you can sort of bullshit your way through it even if you’re not prepared. But you ARE prepared! Do it! Run it! Grab a PR, why the hell not?!

    I wanted to run the Brooklyn Half but figured it’d be too ambitious coming off a marathon two weeks before.. that was a good call.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. New York!!! « collegegirlontherun - May 20, 2012

Leave a Reply

