Ramblings from an Official College Junior

First things first: I am officially halfway done with college. It’s a scary thought. I don’t really know what the world is like after college (most of my knowledge of life as a 20-something college grad comes from reading copious amounts of running and food blogs. Also watching a lot of Friends) but I can guarantee you I’m not prepared for it. Ah, well. At least I have two more years to get ready, right?

Right. Now, back to business. Running, that’s what I’m here to talk about, I think. Sadly, there’s not much to report on the running front. I got an ugly bout of food poisoning from my college’s dining hall (I HAVE AN APARTMENT NEXT YEAR AND DON’T HAVE TO EAT CAFETERIA FOOD ANYMORE IT’S THE BEST NEWS EVER!) and was sidelined for most of the weekend. I’m still on campus in order to produce the graduation issue of the newspaper, but I go home on Friday and the first thing I’m going to do is cook myself some real food in my convection oven. It’s gonna be great.

Today I did a 3.5 mile run in the rain with my friend K-, which felt so nice after spending two days lying in bed watching Mad Men and subsisting on saltines and ginger tea. I hate being sick. I also taught my friend how to swim. He’s 20 and had never learned, which I simply don’t understand. He’s from Chicago, not Mars. Don’t they have a YMCA in Chicago? Luckily, I taught swim lessons at a sleepaway camp for 3 years and am lifeguard/CPR/first aid certified, so I volunteered to rectify the situation. After a 1.5 hour session in the pool, S- mastered floating, rotary breathing, and the flutter kick. We’re still working on putting it all together with the arms, but I’m pretty sure he’ll be good to go (or at least, not drown if he falls into the Potomac) if we do a few more lessons before the end of the week. Compared to teaching 8 year old girls, giving S- swim lessons was no problem. He didn’t even spend 20 minutes whining about how cold the water was, which was always a HUGE time suck when teaching swim lessons at camp.

Other things… Finals week is the perfect time to master the art of procrastination, which for me took the form of watching a lot of Youtube videos and reading a lot of tumblrs. Here are some of my favorite finds:

Running or The Worm?  Can I just say, I really want to run track in Hawaii after watching this.

 

The #realtalk from your Editor tumblr: This thing is great. As a journalist and editor, I can vouch for the accuracy of many of these emotions. Especially this one. I visited the NYT offices over winter break and it was THE BEST EVER.

This article about how the marathon got to be so long. Fun fact: the first finisher of an official 26.2 mile marathon was an Italian pastry chef. Is there some sort of secret ingredient in baking that makes people run fast? Can I use that as an excuse to bake more?

Alright, that’s it for now. How do you feel about swimming, slash where did you learn to swim? What are your favorite gems from random corners of the interwebs?

Tags: , ,

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “Ramblings from an Official College Junior”

  1. Kelly says :

    congrats on being done!! An amazing feeling, I know 🙂 I love swimming and think it’s a great cardiovascular workout. And fun. I think I learned when I was little!

Leave a Reply

