On the Long Run

First of all, can we just appreciate the beauty of these splits for a second?

I went on my long run yesterday afternoon and I gotta tell you, after a full month off of long runs, it feels SO SO good to run long again. Track workouts are fun, but there’s nothing like a 11-mile ramble along the Potomac to put you in a good mood.

Anyway, this run featured all my favorite aspects of running. A few unusual sightings (A man and boy biking in matching Dr. Seuss spandex cycling uniforms, for one), a couple of miles (6 and 7, that’s why they’re kind of slower than the rest) getting lost on a random trail in suburban Maryland (one of the best things about living in D.C. is that you can run in multiple states over the course of 11 miles, which sounds really impressive when you tell people “I ran to Maryland today”), climbing over fallen trees (check out the image below), and a speedy finish (8:23 after running 10 miles before that! ). I was practically hovering 4 inches off the ground on an endorphin high for the rest of the night. It was AWESOME.

One of my favorite parts of this run was stumbling across the Little Falls Park Trail, a partly paved, partly dirt path that kind of intertwines itself with the Capitol Crescent Trail, which is my standard running route. I tried to take some pictures of how pretty it was, but sadly my sweat kind of fogged up the already substandard camera on my cell phone.

Oh hey big sweat blur in the top left corner. But look how pretty the stream is!

This tree was one of 5789214 fallen on the trail. New sport: Extreme tree clambering. It’s the latest fad in the nation’s capital. 

Speaking of running, I’m about to head off on another run to the Lincoln Memorial with a couple of friends, so I need to go get changed. It looks like it might rain, which I’m actually really looking forward to. Nothing like a run in the rain to wash away the stress of finals week!

What’s your favorite kind of running? The long run? Track workouts? Do you prefer running on dirt trails or paved paths?

Tags: , , ,

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “On the Long Run”

  1. Kelly says :

    long runs are definitely my favorite. And I love “nature-like” runs, even if that just consists of the bridle path in CP. Would love to run on real trails someday – your run looks perfect!

Leave a Reply

