Things That Are Round

1. A track

2. Cupcakes

Luckily, both these things figured into my Friday. First, I headed to the local track for a quick (sweaty!) workout. I didn’t have a lot of time, because I needed to get back to campus for round two of my round things day. (Ha ha, pun! Though that was mostly unintended.) So I warmed up for a mile, did five 400 meter repeats with 240 meter jogs in between, then cooled down for a mile. It wasn’t the fastest I’ve ever run, but it felt good to go out there and bang out some speedy splits.

Here they are:

  1.  1:51 (7:26 min/mile pace)
  2. 1:49 (7:18 min/mile pace)
  3. 1:42 (6:50 min/mile pace)
  4. 1:43 (6:54 min/mile pace)
  5. 1:41 (6:46 min/mile pace)

Not bad, considering the heat and the fact that I’m only just starting up track workouts again after a long, long hiatus. I did a weekly track session while training for my half marathon last fall, but I’m still not very familiar with speed work. I didn’t ever have the chance to be on a track or cross country team in high school (There were days before I started running, though it’s hard to believe. What did I do with all my time?) and my college is Division 1 so I DEFINITELY am not getting invited to track workouts with the runners here. So I don’t know how to tell if this pace is a good one or not. My goal for the summer is to run a 24 min 5K, but the internet is being kind of confusing about whether this puts me on track to do that. (Whoops, another pun!)

Anyway, after a cooldown run and a quick shower I headed over to my friend’s apartment to bake some cupcakes. Our friend A- had just had surgery to have part of his colon removed, so I thought it would be a funny idea to make colon cupcakes (the grammatical mark, not the bodily organ) for his homecoming from the hospital.

They’re banana cupcakes with peanut butter and chocolate frosting, and the “colons” are made out of M&Ms. They were a BIG hit, and this is possibly one of the best batches of banana bread I’ve ever made. Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 2 large eggs
  • 4 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 350. Line 3 muffin tins (6 cups each) with paper cupcake liners.
2. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar.
3. Then add eggs one at a time.
4. Stir in bananas, vanilla, and yogurt.
5. In another bowl, combine flour, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.
6. Gently stir flour mixture into wet ingredients.
7. Fill muffin tins 3/4 of the way with batter, then bake until the tops turn brown, about 15-20 minutes. (The dorm ovens in college are terrible and bake super weirdly, so do not base your baking time off of mine. Keep an eye on your cupcakes!)
8. While the cupcakes are baking, melt 1/2 cup of peanut butter in a small glass bowl in the microwave for 20 seconds. Pour half into another bowl and stir in 1/4 cup of dark chocolate chips until they melt (you can microwave this one again if the chips aren’t melting all the way).
9. When cupcakes are done, remove them from the oven and allow them to cool for 10 to 20 minutes. Frost half the cupcakes with the melted peanut-butter and half with the chocolate-peanut butter mixture.
10. Top each cupcake with two M&Ms and enjoy!
Do you know a lot about track workouts? If yes, what time does a 1:41 min 4oo meter translate into for a 5K?  I don’t really know what I’m doing in this department. What is your favorite kind of cupcake? I’m not really a cake person and I don’t like frosting at all, so banana bread with peanut butter on top is my idea of an awesome cupcake.
About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

4 responses to “Things That Are Round”

  1. Josie says :

    Yum- those cupcakes sounds delicious. I love frosting though- the more the merrier 🙂

    I’m in no way a track expert. What you’re doing sound good- speed work is what you need if you’re trying to lower your 5k time. If you progressively run harder workouts, I’m sure you’ll hit your goal.

  2. Idella Forsthoffer says :

    Hello.This post was extremely motivating, especially since I was browsing for thoughts on this topic last Thursday.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. On the Long Run « collegegirlontherun - May 7, 2012
  2. V is for Victory « collegegirlontherun - May 11, 2012

Leave a Reply

