Inspiration

When I went out for my run yesterday evening, I really wasn’t feeling the whole “put one foot in front of the other and move” thing. I had just woken up from a nap. I was in a bad mood because of a frustrating coworker. I had eaten a too-big lunch and still felt kind of full even though it was already 6:00. But I went anyway.

I set out for an easy five miler on the Capitol Crescent Trail, which is basically my go-to running spot in D.C. I was feeling pretty lackluster so I stuck in my headphones and listened to last week’s Wait Wait, Don’t Tell Me (funniest thing on the radio!). After 3 miles, I decided I wanted to stop and do a quick ab workout at Fletcher’s Boathouse, which sits between the trail and the Potomac. I got down on the grass to start doing my situps when I noticed the dock farther down on the hill, sticking out into a little cove.

I decided to relocate my workout to the dock. It was amazing and perfect. Late afternoon/early evening is my favorite time of day, and yesterday was an absolute perfect specimen of an evening if there ever was one. There was a soft breeze, the river was quite, a heron (crane? egret? I don’t really know my birds, but its the one in the picture above) wandered into my field of vision as I did my 2 minutes of plank.

These pictures look really cloudy, but there was actually a beautiful yellow-pink-gold sunset happening here. My phone’s camera is just not very good. 

Everything about the dock and the river exuded beauty and tranquility. All the things I had been stressing out about — finals, the newspaper, friend drama — it all seemed to melt away. After I finished my workout, I just sat on the dock and looked around, not wanting to leave. But it was getting dark, and I wanted to get back to campus before the dining hall closed, so I eventually got up and finished off the last two miles of my run.

They were about five gazillion times better than the first half of the run. Instead of feeling heavy and tired, my legs were springy and awake. A quick stride felt natural, as though I were skimming over the pavement instead of actually pounding it. Its amazing how 20 minutes sitting on a dock can change your mood, but I arrived back to campus feeling fresh and inspired. It was great.

What inspires you on a run? Do you know the difference between a heron and an egret?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

3 responses to “Inspiration”

  1. Jules says :

    O wow – you’re so lucky to be able to run through a place on your daily runs!

  2. michelle marie says :

    I love Fletcher’s boat house!! I grew up in DC and I always squeeze in a kayaking trip from Fletcher’s whenever I go back to visit my parents. I looooove running along that trail, too– so beautiful and peaceful. It’s maybe the only “happy place” I have in DC 🙂

    • collegegirlontherun says :

      That’s exactly how I felt! I’m from NY, and even though I love college I spend a lot of time missing my city. But this trail is one of the few places in D.C. that I feel ownership of.

Leave a Reply

