Terrific Things Tuesday

It’s Tuesday, and I don’t have class. No exams, no hour long lectures, no homework. Gotta love study days. Except for the part where you eat sleep and spend all of your life staring at class notes and practice exams in the library.

This me for the next 10 days. 

But as I’ve said, I actually kind of relish finals week. Since the paper doesn’t publish, its more free time than I’ve had all semester. And there have been other terrific things happening recently also. For example, I did my first double digit run since the marathon this Sunday. It’s been a LONG while since I’ve done a truly long long run. I actually didn’t mean to wait that long, but I’ve been so busy the past few weekends I haven’t really had an hour and a half spare to go on an 11 mile run.

It was a little slow going, but it felt great to just head out on a run and zone out for two hours. And I even managed to pick up the pace for the last mile!

Other terrific things? I’ve recently discovered Mad Men, and it is one fantastically addictive TV show. I’m already almost done with the first season. I love the clothes and the music, but I also feel really bad for the women. It must have been so horrible to have so few options in life. It seems like you could be a housewife or a secretary, but nothing else, no matter how smart or capable you were. I think about all the things I want to do in life, and I know that I would not have been able to do those things in the ’50s.

Speaking of which, my final terrific thing for today is that I finally booked my plane ticket to Cairo for this summer. I am really, truly, actually going to Egypt in a month and a half. I’m simultaneously terrified and excited out of my mind. Pyramids, here I come!

Question: What’s terrific in your life today? Do you watch Mad Men?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

2 responses to “Terrific Things Tuesday”

  1. Jules says :

    I really like Madmen as well! Somewhere in the middle of Season 3. Lots of catching up to do.

    Cairo should be awesome! What will you be doing there? Mix of studying and holidaying? I went there for a day about 4-5 years ago but would like to return to Egypt at some point.

  2. Kelly says :

    oh wow, that’s awesome! What a great opportunity to travel and see such an interesting place – congrats! And good luck on finals 🙂

Leave a Reply

