Totally Terrific Tuesday

Warning: I am totally high on endorphins and adrenaline right now. My enthusiasm for running, journalism, and life in general may be highly contagious. If you are susceptible to gleefulness, giddiness, or smiling uncontrollably, it might be wise to step away from the computer.

I LOVE LIFE.

It is very rare that things go better than according to plan, especially when you’re a college kid in the midst of the final week of school, with term papers looming and application deadlines approaching.

But in the past couple of days, everything’s gone exactly as I had hoped, and better!

First off, the newspaper had elections this weekend and I was elected to the position I’ve been dreaming about basically since the beginning of this school year. It was in my New Years resolutions, even. And last night, my very first production night in the position, we finished the paper ON DEADLINE (that never happens!) and, as far as I know, without any mistakes.

VICTORY!

Secondly, and probably more relevant to this blog, I did my first real tempo run in a VERY long time today and it was GREAT! I was shooting for four miles at or around 8:20 min/mile pace, because that’s roughly what I was running last October right before my half marathon, and I wanted to gauge if I had lost any fitness.

The answer: I haven’t! After a too-fast warmup (The first mile really should have been more around 9:00 min) I managed to keep my pace around 8:20 and then drop it down to 8:10 for the second half of the tempo. I was so thrilled to see that pace flashing on my watch that I promptly tripped and face planted halfway through my cooldown mile, cutting the celebration somewhat short. But I won’t let a scraped shin and a bruised elbow get me down! I am WAY too excited about the paper and the run. It might be dangerous.

Unfortunately, I now have to go work on an International Trade problem set with my study group (that’ll bring me off of my cloud pretty quick) so I’ll leave you with a happy bunny photo:

What kinds of things make your day totally terrific? Do you do tempo runs?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

3 responses to “Totally Terrific Tuesday”

  1. Kelly says :

    Congrats on finishing the paper on time (with no mistakes)! That’s awesome. AND, great tempo run, lady. I love tempo runs, especially during marathon training. And I love endorphins even more. ❤ runner's high 🙂

  2. Josie says :

    Congrats on the position! All my knowledge of college/high school papers come from 90210 (Andrea Zuckerman) and Gilmore girls 🙂

    Nice tempo run!! Seems like an 8.20 goal pace was too easy for you. Speedy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

