Back on (the) Track

I did a track workout today. It was my first one in oh, lets say five months?

.
It was HARD. I may or my not have threatened my running buddy (who ran track in high school and is significantly faster than me – this was probably a walk in the park for him) with severe violence on multiple occasions.
K-, my super-speedy friend who came up with the workout, had me doing a ladder, which is when you start out doing shorter distance splits, progress up to a longer split in the middle, and then come back down again. (Sorry that none of this is the appropriate/official terminology. I’ve never run on a team, so everything I know about track workouts comes from blogs and occasional readings of Runners World). The track near my school is 320 meters, so we broke this up into 1/2 loop, full loop, and 2 loop splits.

.
(I tried to keep track of it it on the garmin but the splits came out super weird. I need to learn how to program that to do things other than track my mile pace. A lot of math went into figuring these splits out!

.
0.1 mile (160 meters) = 0:40 (6:34 min/mile pace)
0.1 mile (160 meters) = 0:39 (6:31 min/mile pace)
0.2 mile (320 meters) = 1:19 (6:34 min/mile pace)
0.2 mile (320 meters) = ??? The garmin didn’t keep track of this one somehow…
0.4 mile (640 meters) = 2:39 (6:37 min/mile pace)
0.2 mile (320 meters) = 1:24 (6:50 min/mile pace)
0.2 mile (320 meters) = 1:21 (6:47 min/mile pace)
0.1 mile (160 meters) = ??? This one also got lost
0.1 mile (160 meters) = 0:37 (6:12 min/mile pace)

.
This was HARD! Oh my gosh, I don’t know how people run 20 minute 5Ks. I could barely even keep up the 6:37 min/mile pace for the 640 meter split. I thought I was going to keel over by the end of it (I survived). Basically, K- decided what pace he thought was appropriate and I just tried to keep up with him. By the second half of the workout, especially during the two 320 meter splits after the longest 640 meter one, I tried to distract my brain from thinking “I WANT TO DIE” by thinking of ways to inflict physical pain on K- in exchange for this. Of course, after it was all done and I had a drink of water I was so glad that K- had agreed to run with me and basically floated on an awesome endorphin cloud for the rest of the afternoon.

.
Yay running!

.
Do you do track workouts? Do you do them with friends or alone? (I think having K- around really helped push me to run at a pace that I probably would have been afraid of normally) Which track workouts are your favorite? 

Tags: ,

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “Back on (the) Track”

  1. Kelly says :

    Nice running, lady! I don’t do track workouts but I totally should. I think they definitely help make you faster. And totally agree – if I had someone to do a workout with that might motivate me to get to a track!

Leave a Reply

