The Week and Fast Finish Runs

Hey folks!

First off, happy Easter and Passover to those who celebrate! To those who don’t, happy Empanada Day! Who knew there was such a thing? I didn’t, but I’ll happily eat some empanadas if that’s what’s required.

I ran 23 miles this week, which doesn’t seem like very much compared to the 35-40 mpw I was running before the marathon, but this week was the first time since March 17 that I haven’t felt like my legs were made of lead while running.

Monday: 40 min swim
Tuesday: 6 mile run around the Tidal Basin
Wednesday: Rest
Thursday: 4.9 mile run in Prospect Park
Friday: Circuit training at the Y (my arms and glutes are still sore!)
Saturday: 7.58 mile run in Prospect Park and Yoga at the Y
Sunday: 4.82 mile run in Prospect Park
TOTAL: 23.3 miles

It’s awesome to finally be getting back into the groove and I’m pumped to start getting my weekly mileage up in the 30s again and to throw in some speed work!

Lately, I’ve been trying to do some fast finish runs, where I speed up for the last mile or so of my run. I did this on Wednesday (somewhat involuntarily, because sometimes I get WAY more competitive than is necessary) and again today. Here are the splits for today’s run:

I only really sped up for the last half mile or so of mile 4 (and then the .82 miles were my jog back home from the park), and I tried to maintain a 8:00 to 8:15 min/mile pace for that half mile. It felt pretty hard, because it’s been a while and a half since I last did any kind of speed work, but it was awesome to run fast!

I’m no expert, but I think that fast finishe runs are really great training both mentally and physically. They teach your body to run hard even after you’re tired and it also helps you practice revving up your energy to finish a race looking and feeling strong. I slowed down a LOT during my marathon (going from a 9:30 min/mile during the first half to about a 12 min/mile by the finish) and I think that as I keep training and becoming a better runner, fast finish runs will help me avoid that.

Did you celebrate empanada day? (Did you even know it existed?) How do you feel about fast finish runs?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

7 responses to “The Week and Fast Finish Runs”

  1. Josie says :

    I didn’t know there was empanada day (I was too busy eating all the chocolate I guess). it seems there is a food day for everything!

    I actually read the other day that finishing strong is one of the best ways to train because as you said- it teaches you to stay strong in a race, but also is less taxing on the body than a pure speed workout so you can do it more often.

  2. Jules says :

    Happy empanada day! First time I’ve even heard of an empanada…

  3. Kelly says :

    had no idea it was empanada day! ha. I think fast finish runs are awesome for training and confidence building.

  4. michelle marie says :

    oh man, i was NOT aware of empanada day. i can’t believe i missed THE BEST DAY OF THE YEAR. DAMMIT.

    props for all the prospect park running– i’m such a wuss on those hills…

    • collegegirlontherun says :

      YES! The big hill in the park is definitely super hard, but oddly one of my favorite parts of running there. I am usually able to force myself to power up the hill even when I’m struggling to push my pace on other parts of the run. I think it’s something about having an end point. Plus the quicker you get up a hill, the sooner it’s over!

Leave a Reply

