I’m HOME!

Back in the greatest city in the world and it feels GREAT! I love New York. Have I mentioned that recently? Oh yeah, maybe once or twice. But there’s really no place like it. For example, I got on the F train coming home from Penn Station late last night and was greeted by this:

Super sketchy (and surreptitiously taken) photo of a girl wearing flower jeans. Sorry for the poor photo quality.

That’s definitely NOT something you would see in D.C. The District is way too straight laced and suit-oriented. New Yorkers have spunk!

So I’ve been home for approximately 20 hours and thus far I haven’t been doing too much exciting stuff. I pretty much collapsed into my bed last night and slept the sleep of the dead. 11 hours of sleep for the win! I felt a little bad when I woke up 2 hours after I had intended this morning, but I can’t really blame myself. I’m catching up on three months of academics-induced sleep deprivation!

This morning I got coffee with a friend from elementary school who’s also home on Easter Break. We chatted for an hour, mostly about running and her awesome study abroad plans. I stayed at the coffee shop to try and work on a Comparative Political Systems paper about whether China can be classified as communist. It was a bit of a struggle, especially because I kept getting distracted by pre-registration for next fall. I’ve said it before, but looking at possible classes I want to take is seriously addictive! It’s like drugs for nerds.

After three hours and three pages of writing (more than halfway done!) I rewarded myself with a run in Prospect Park. In case you’re wondering why this post is so upbeat (with so many exclamation points!) this is the reason. The sun was shining, the temperature was a perfect 59 degrees, and all around it was just one of those OMG I LOVE ENDORPHINS runs.

Here are the stats:

It took me a while to get warmed up (plus it’s all uphill for me to get to the park) but after that I fell right into a nice groove. I meant to keep this run easy, about 9:15 pace, but you can see that on mile 4 I got a little carried away. I caught up with a girl who had passed me early in my run and decided I wanted to beat her to the end of the loop. I gotta tell you, that 8:39 min/mile felt SO GOOD! It’s been months since I’ve done any kind of speed work and I forgot how awesome it feels! Of course, then I had to go ahead and trip over a dog on my cooldown, dispelling any feeling I had of speed and agility.

Good going Sarah.

What kind of things do you like to do when you go home? When’s the last time you had a great workout? Any thoughts on the communist nature of the People’s Republic of China? I can cite you in my paper!

Tags: , , , , ,

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Week and Fast Finish Runs « collegegirlontherun - April 9, 2012

Leave a Reply

