The World Is a Wonderful Place

I know I said this in my last post, regarding a tinkerbell kite, but it’s really true. The world is a wonderful place.

Exhibit A: It is officially, definitively springtime and campus looks like a fairytale land.

My favorite spot on campus, all decked out in cherry blossoms.

True story: Last night as I was walking back from a meeting for the newspaper, I heard a little boy turn to his father and say, “Daddy, I didn’t know this college was in a castle!” It was probably the most adorable thing to happen all semester.

Exhibit B: It is 70 degrees and sunny and I went for a fantastic, therapeutic six-mile run around the tidal basin with my friend K-.

Exhibit C: Ben & Jerry’s free cone day. Need I say more?

I got a scoop of raspberry fudge chunk, which apparently is made with greek yogurt! (Didn’t know that till after I ordered it.) As greek yogurt is one of my favorite things in this universe, I was all for it. It was definitely more on the sweet creamy ice cream-y side than the tart greek yogurt-y side, but still delicious!

Exhibit D: I GET TO GO HOME TOMORROW! One of the fantastic things about my college is that we get Easter break, and even though I don’t celebrate Easter I plan on taking full advantage of this extra-long weekend. My plans for my five days in New York include:

– Numerous runs in Prospect Park, one of my all-time favorite places

– Lots of baking and cooking with my mom (I’ve been bookmarking recipes on tastepotting since I was last home over winter break)

– Classes at the Y, especially spinning, yoga, and my favorite weights/strengthening class

– REAL LIVE NEW YORK BAGELS! This place, the Bagel Hole, has hands down the best bagels made by man. Ask anyone.

– Hanging out in Union Square and browsing at The Strand while lusting after books I can’t afford to buy

– Lots of sleeping in my bed, watching TV, and general loafing around the house

Oh yeah. And I have to write two papers and prepare a research presentation on activist literature in Native American Culture for my English class. I’m sure I’ll find time for that somewhere, you know, in between running, bagel-consuming, and loafing around the house.

Are you from New York? What are your favorite things to do there? What’s making your world wonderful today?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “The World Is a Wonderful Place”

  1. Kelly says :

    there’s no place like New York! Hope you have a nice break 🙂 Among my favorites = Central Park running. Obvi. And wandering around aimlessly 🙂

Leave a Reply

