Recovery

It’s hard to believe that one week ago I was preparing to go to the expo, drinking water by the gallon and struggling to contain the bundle of nerves and excitement that threatened to explode every time I thought about the fact that I was about to run a marathon.

But it happened. I have photo evidence!

This week has mostly been about recovery. I haven’t run at all, though I have taken several long walks. I’ve stretched. I’ve iced. I’ve drunk a lot of water. I’ve eaten a lot of chocolate. That’s part of recovery too, right? Chocolate? Didn’t I read that somewhere in Runners World sometime? Well, maybe not. But I think chocolate should be a vital component of any life plan.

That said, I’ve been itching to lace up my adrenalines and get back on my feet this week, and it’s taken all my self restraint not to jump out of bed and head out for a run in the morning, especially since the weather has been gorgeous this week. 70 degrees and sunny every day! Honestly, crossing that finish line running was the last thing I ever wanted to do again. I was SO ready to be done. If you had told me it would be difficult to restrict myself to the week-long recovery period that my mom made me promise to abide by, I would have had trouble believing you. But here I am. I guess I’m crazy (in case the decision to run 26 miles wasn’t a tip-off). I’m turning into a crazy runner, like the guy in this video!

I’m running a marathon
by: faithfulsoles

http://www.xtranormal.com/xtraplayr/7985459/im-running-a-marathon

That problem has been exacerbated by the this guy who was purchased on Sunday (by my Dad, who in case you couldn’t already tell from the fact that he followed me all around D.C. taking pictures of me during the race, is the best dad ever!)

I am now the proud owner of a Garmin 610! This definitely solidifies my crazy obsessive runner status.

I’m itching to test this guy out on a run, which is my plan for tomorrow morning. I’ve got an easy 4 mile route to the National Mall (its cherry blossom season!) all plotted out and ready to go. My first record stats on this watch definitely won’t be my fastest ones, but I’m so excited to try it that I can’t wait till I start doing speed work and long-distance runs.

It’s time to go to class, but have a great Friday everyone! I hope the weather where you are is as beautiful as it is here in DC!

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Good, the Bad and the Crazy « collegegirlontherun - March 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

