One Day Till Race Day!

Oh boy oh boy oh boy oh boy.

I don’t know how to feel about this. I am such a bundle of excitement and terror. I know that I can do this, but at the same time, I know it’s going to hurt. A lot. Am I ready for that?

My plan is to take the rest of today easy. This morning I slept in till 10 a.m. (!) and then got a bagel (carbo-load!) and checked my email and read the news and basically bummed around on the internet for an hour. I don’t have class till noon on Fridays, so that’s nice. Then I’ll go to Arabic and watch the clock as my professor explains grammar and berates my terrible accent. At 1, I have a date with my friend N- for a 20 minute shakeout run to get me loose for the Big One. Then I’ll shower (right now I’m wearing exercise clothes, which I swear is one of my favorite parts of college. I love that I can just not get dressed in the morning if I don’t feel up to orchestrating an outfit. The working world is going to be a rude awakening after I graduate…) and eat lunch, head to my Comparative Politics discussion section, watch the clock again, and then hop on the metro to RFK stadium to PICK UP MY RACE PACKET AHHH!

A warning to my parents, I’m planning on purchasing several articles of clothing with number 26.2 on them. Just a heads up.

My mom is running the 1/2 marathon, so I’m meeting her at the expo and then we’re going to head out to an early dinner with my dad. Then it’s back to campus for a final (sleepless) night before I take a shot at my first marathon!

What do you do on your last day before a big race? How do you control your nerves? Do you buy stuff at race expos?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Leave a Reply

