The Four and a Half Day Freak Out

Four and a half days. Eighty-nine hours. Three Arabic classes, one Econ lecture, one English discussion, and one Government class. One production night for the Friday issue of the newspaper. That’s all that’s standing between me and my marathon.

For all the endless months I’ve been training for this race, it’s felt like March 17 couldn’t come fast enough. After my awesome 18 milers and the super painful 20 miler, I thought, “I’m ready. I can do this. Bring it on.” But now, I feel totally unprepared. My knees are achey, my motivation is waning, and I haven’t done a run longer than 10 miles since February 25. I’m panicked that race day will be too hot (the forecast for Saturday is 73 degrees), that my knees won’t hold up, that I will have to walk for half the race. I’m starting to wish I had another few weeks to heal, to get back in the groove.

But race day is coming, whether I want it to or not. And as I sit here typing, an ice pack strapped to either knee, I am fighting to find the resolve and the energy that I know I’m going to need come Saturday morning.

Yes, I used a pair of purple tights to attach the ice pack to my left leg. Things are totally high tech here in college student land. 

The thing that is really keeping me from becoming a total wreck is reading posts from other running bloggers, especially Meggie’s post about her 2011 NYC Marathon. She had leg pain during her race too, and was coming off not-the-best training cycle, but she finished the race and she was resilient. I want to do that too. Honestly, I have no goals for this race other than to finish it standing and get a 26.2 sticker for my water bottle. If that happens, I will be the happiest girl in the world Saturday afternoon.

Questions: What was your first marathon like? Have you ever run a race while you were feeling sore/injured? How do you control your crazy thoughts during the last week of taper? 

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Leave a Reply

