Oh Hey It’s Spring!

First, before you do anything else, you need to listen to this song:

I am such a nerd, but this is my absolute all-time favorite song and has basically been the theme to my day.

March 1, aka T minus 16 days till race day, started off great! I went for an easy 5.5 mile run along the canal path with my friend K-, who nicely slowed down to run with me even though I found out yesterday he ran somewhere around 4:30 minute mile in high school (craziness!). There was some pain behind my knees and in my hip flexor (please, please go away!) but the sun was shining, there were puddles to jump through, and it was a perfect way to start the day.

Super attractive muddy legs. Though honestly, this picture doesn’t even do the dirtiness full justice…

After a quick shower and cereal I had to interview a university administrator for an article I’m writing, dash to my Arabic and Comparative Political Systems classes (where I got back a good grade on a midterm!) As if that wasn’t good enough, when I got back to my room I found out that I had been admitted to the study abroad program I applied to. So (drumroll please!) I will officially be spending the summer in Alexandria, Egypt to study Arabic! I’m super nervous but also really excited. They better start making extra falafel over there now because I plan on eating it for breakfast, lunch and dinner. (Fun fact: did you know that Egyptian McDonalds serve falafel? Its true!)

That’s all for now. Next on the agenda: cram for my Arabic midterm tomorrow, get dinner from the Ethiopian food truck parked next to campus, and produce Friday’s issue of the newspaper. No biggie! (Not really, I’m actually not going to sleep tonight…)

Question(s): What song was the soundtrack to your day today? What’s the best food you’ve gotten all week? Have you ever gotten food from a food truck? (They’re all over DC and they’re awesome!)

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

4 responses to “Oh Hey It’s Spring!”

  1. Kelly says :

    ooh that’s a good question! I would say maybe “suddenly I see” by kt tungstell (or however you spell her last name). I would like my soundtrack to be Pink’s “raise your glass” sometime soon. maybe after midterms! haha.

Leave a Reply

