Off and On

If last week was an “off” week in terms of running (and life in general!) this week has most certainly been “on.” Between getting in some seriously high mileage (for me), dealing with breaking news at the paper, working through what seems to be a never ending pile of homework, finishing my study abroad application (!) and declaring my major (!!!) it’s been a busy seven days.

And it’s not over yet. I woke up this morning with some really awful cramps so I decided to put my 20-miler on hold till tomorrow. Sometimes being a girl kinda really sucks. Instead of running first thing in the morning, I slept in a bit later and then trucked off to the business school building to do some homework. Sadly, it wasn’t a very productive day because there were a bunch of MBA students (who I guess are taking weekend classes?) being noisy and social in the main study area. Grrr. The biz school building is my favorite place to study and is so much more convenient for me than the library, but sometimes the multitude of business minded people streaming through the building in their slacks and button up shirts and networking and stuff can kind of get on my nerves. I guess I’m just jealous because I’m in a humanities major that’s never going to make me any money when I’m older.

Anyway, so that means that tomorrow’s the big ol’ 20-miler. I have to admit I’m pretty nervous. I’m experimenting with drinking gatorade on my long run instead of eating energy gels because Gu has kind of been upsetting my stomach lately. We’ll see how it goes.

See you on the other side of 20 miles!

What’s been keeping you busy lately? Was your college major useful for your future job?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. The Other Side « collegegirlontherun - January 29, 2012

Leave a Reply

