My Sneakers are Lonely

So this past week was not the greatest, especially not in terms of running.

I took a lot of unexpected rest days this week, and even though I probably needed them I can’t help but feel disappointed in myself. 16 miles total is definitely not my best. I had originally planned for this week to be pretty low mileage anyway (I’m experimenting with a “one week high, one week low” system in order to avoid hurting my achilles, which has plagued me for a while) but I was thinking more along the lines of 25 or 30. Yet a combination of school work, snow, personal life drama, a cold that just won’t go away, and one night spent partying a little too hard meant my trusty Brookes Adrenalines haven’t seen a whole lot of action recently.

Sad sneakers!

I know I shouldn’t beat myself up for not running as much as I’d like to. There was a time for me when 16 miles a week seemed like a huge achievement, and I need to remember that any time spent pounding the pavement is better than no time at all. I just kind of feel like I wimped out this week. (Not to mention the fact that the first full week of dining hall food was kind of a shock to my system, so a LOT of junk found its way into my belly in the past seven days.) When people ask me how I find the time to train for a marathon, I always tell them: “Everyone has the same 24 hours in the day. This is how I am choosing to spend mine.” I always thought that if you can’t find the time to do something, that means you probably don’t want it badly enough. So heres the question: How badly do I want this marathon?

The answer is, a lot. A lot a lot. Even when it’s early in the morning and icy and cold and I was up til 2 a.m. doing Economics reading the night before, I always love going for a run. I have a post-it next to my bed that says:

(In case you can’t read the last part, it says, “You love this. You wouldn’t be trying so hard if you didn’t. Think about how much this means to you!”)

It’s not exactly Shakespeare but it reminds me of why I get out the door every day. I love running. I love training. And I am so excited to be running a marathon. I just need to be reminded every so often, and not let myself slip into bad habits. Luckily, I have some good running friends to get me out of the dumps and back on my feet. Today, one of my best buddies N- and I did an easy 4.5 mile loop around the neighborhood where our school is, including a trip along Embassy Row and a stop at CVS for me to buy Ricola (BEST COUGH DROPS EVER!)

I think I have tried every variety of these cough drops. I may or may not eat them like candy on occasion. I just really like the menthol-y taste. I promise I’m not as weird as I sound. Or maybe I am.

It wasn’t the fastest four and a half miles ever, nor did I feel that great, but N- and I chatted about homework and study abroad and the newspaper and boys and life and it reminded me that in addition to really, really wanting to run this marathon and feel great about it, I also just really like the simple pleasure of going out for a run.

Sorry that this post was super rambly and incoherent. This is what happens when there’s no real running news to report! Here is my plan for this week — hopefully I’ll be a bit better about following it than I have been for the past few days, and hopefully posting it on the blog will help hold me accountable!

WEEK SUNDAY MONDAY TUESDAY WEDNESDAY THURSDAY FRIDAY SATURDAY TOTAL
14 22-Jan 4.5 4 5 + Yoga 6.5 5 REST 20 40

How do you feel when (and if!) you flake out on your training schedule? How do you keep yourself motivated?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “My Sneakers are Lonely”

  1. Kelly says :

    don’t beat yourself up! shit happens. I usually just remind myself to be flexible and that a missed workout is ok. Like you, I just remind myself how much I want it to motivate me during training!

Leave a comment