Back to the Books

It had to happen eventually. Despite my best efforts to convince my parents to let me live on the couch and bake cookies all day, this morning they put me on the Amtrak to D.C. and told me not to come back till May. Not really. If anything, my mom was suffering from more separation anxiety than me. It was like the first day of pre-school when the parent can’t let go and the kid is already playing with blocks and sticking out her tongue at her new classmates.

In an attempt to ease the pain of separation, I spent my entire last day at home with my mom. Which of course meant waking up at 6:45 to go to our favorite weight-lifting/abs class at the Y. After we had showered and eaten breakfast we headed out the door and uptown to the Guggenheim, where my mom showed off her art-history major knowledge and I tried to understand the artistic value of monochrome.

Do you know what this is supposed to mean?

We made homemade tomato soup for dinner (plus pumpernickel bread with cheddar cheese and apple) and watched old episodes of The West Wing with my dad. I am not a TV person at all (not because I’m snobby and intellectual, just because I don’t have time and prefer to spend my time in front of the tube watching Disney movies and pretending that I’m still six) but this is a really great show.

Today we went for a early morning run around Prospect Park, which smelled like a pine tree air freshener factory exploded because the Parks department was grinding up people’s Christmas trees to make wood chips. It was great.

I had a really great break, full of friends visiting and awesome long runs and spending a lot of fun time with my parents, so I wasn’t very eager to head back to college. I know it’s going to be hard to adjust to the heavy workload and the crazy hours. But the first day back has actually been pretty good!  I went grocery shopping and bought peanut butter multigrain cheerios, which basically sounds like heaven in a bowl.

As if that weren’t enough, when I opened my mailbox I found the latest issue of Runners World inside! I’m excited to have time to read it before being buried under mountains of reading and homework.

I look very suspicious in this picture. I swear I’m not up to anything sneaky!

So overall, it’s been a good first day back. But we’ll see what happens when classes start tomorrow!

Do you like spending time with your parents? What’s your favorite kind of cereal? Do you look forward to starting school/work after a vacation? (If you answered yes to that last one, what kind of job do you have and where can I find one?!)

 

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “Back to the Books”

  1. Kelly says :

    aww, sounds like you had a good last day with your parents! I like spending time with mine (separately, as they are divorced!). If I have a long enough vacation and have time to recharge, I’m usually excited to get back to school and start working hard again. Work…meh. hehe. You’ll have to report back on those cheerios!

Leave a Reply

