Glorious

First off, thank you for writing such nice things about my last post. It’s no fun being disappointed, but I know that there are other great options on the horizon!

This morning I had the kind of run that renews my faith in the world. After painfully pulling myself out of bed at 6 a.m. (I’m still working on that whole early wake-up thing) I headed out into the darkness with my mom for a quick but glorious 4 miler. I have to admit, I hate waking up early but I LOVE running in the early morning. During the course of those 4 miles, we saw the world change from night to day. First the sky lightened a bit, then a streak of yellow appeared between the trees in the park. Soon the whole horizon was the color of a peach, pink and gold and orange. We talked about marathon training and summer plans and the book we both just finished reading and it just felt so good to be out in my park, with my mom, on my feet. The miles ticked by so quickly I wished I had time for another loop.

Instead, I’m meeting up with a friend in Grand Central to eat breakfast before she heads back to school via the Metro North. She was away for most of winter break, so it was the only time we could meet! Luckily, I’ve wanted to see the holiday train show for a while (I’ve never seen it before) so it works out. It’s hard to believe break is almost over. I’m going to miss a lot of things when I go back to school on Tuesday, but I think I’m mainly going to miss spending moments like this morning with my mom and dad–running in the park with my mom, sitting on the couch talking politics with my dad, my whole family eating dinner together. I don’t think I ever really appreciated how much I like spending time with my parents until time with them became a rare commodity.

Sorry for the kind of sappy post. I hope that you all had a great morning (or even better, are still asleep!)

What is your favorite time of day to run? Does your family ever go running with you?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

2 responses to “Glorious”

  1. Kelly says :

    totally know what you mean – I try to make the most of my family time when I go to visit because I miss it! So simple yet so meaningful.

    I wish my family ran – I’m the sole runner 🙂 And, love me an early morning run! Sunrises are the best.

  2. Smore says :

    My mom runs with me when I’m home which I love but my brothers and dad aren’t really runners.. although I am making them do the turkey trot next year!

Leave a Reply

