Bummer

Alternate Title: Way More Than You Wanted to Know About My Academic Plans

I found out today that I didn’t get into the study abroad program that I really wanted. It was a government program to study Arabic for 8 weeks in the Middle East this summer, and it was all-expenses paid. It would have been the most amazing experience and even though I hate being one of those resume-obsessed people, it would have been really helpful to have on my resume when I look for journalism jobs (oh hey! Have I mentioned I want to be a journalist?) somewhere down the line. I knew that my chances were slim when I applied, but I can’t help but feel incredibly disappointed. Thus the title of this post.

😦

I guess there’s no use dwelling on things I can’t change, so I want to focus on moving forward! I have a couple of other programs I’m applying to (unfortunately, none of them are free, like this one would have been, so that also means applying to a ton of scholarships because summer study abroad is $$$) ANNND I’m almost done declaring my major! I’m so excited to finally be finishing up my core requirements and to start studying things I’m actually really interested in!

Pending the acceptance of my application, I’m hoping to be a culture and politics major with a concentration in social movements in North Africa. So next fall I’m planning on taking a class on the Arab media, a geography class about water and its effects on the social and political history of the Middle East, and a couple of other classes that sound super fascinating — to me, at least. I am a total nerd about history and sociology, so I love it when people find ways to connect certain aspects of history and culture to things you wouldn’t think have anything to do with it. For example, the “resource curse” phenomenon, which explains why developing countries with a lot of natural resources often have trouble forming stable democracies. All right, I’m going to stop now before you get bored…

Unfortunately, this week hasn’t been very exciting on the running front. It’s a “scale back” week, as I’ve mentioned before, so I’m only doing 25 miles total. In the interest of sticking to my New Year’s resolutions, I’ve also been to one weight-lifting/strengthening class at the Y (on Wednesday) and I did a 45 minute yoga session in my living room on Tuesday. I have a short long run (oxymoron?) of 10 miles planned for tomorrow, and I’m going to try and fit in 20 minutes of abs work as well. But I also have one of my best friends from high school visiting (her family moved away after we graduated, so it’s been a while since she’s been back to the city!), so having fun with her comes first!

Next week I go back to school and back to marathon training with a vengeance (shooting for 43 miles, which would be my highest weekly mileage yet!) I’m enjoying my break, but I also can’t wait to get started!

How do you cheer yourself up when you’re disappointed? What are your favorite things to geek out about?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

3 responses to “Bummer”

  1. Michelle @ Michelle Does Germany says :

    I’m sorry you didn’t get in but everything happens for a reason. That just means something better is right around the corner 🙂

  2. Kelly says :

    aww, sorry to hear that, lady! It sounds like it would have been a great experience. But, I always tell myself that everything happens for a reason, you know? It sounds like you’re in great shape with your major (which sounds really cool!). I love that you’re looking forward to getting back to school 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Glorious « collegegirlontherun - January 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

