Take it Easy Tuesday and Best of the Web

Hey there!

Today has been one of the most relaxed days I’ve had in a while. It started out with me sleeping 10 1/2 hours till 9:30 and NOT doing any kind of exercise at all. Shocking! It’s a scale back week for me (I’m following a training schedule that has me doing two weeks high mileage followed by one week low mileage) so I’m only planning on running 25 miles instead of the usual 35-40.

I then lay in bed for an hour and a half in my pajamas, reading running blogs and working on a couple of applications for stuff I want to do next semester (study abroad, spring break service trips, etc.) while listening to this song on repeat:

I then ate a breakfast yogurt mess (literally my favorite meal ever) of fage greek yogurt, frozen mixed berries, and cereal.

Yum!

Now I’m headed to the Upper West Side to make pie with a friend. But before I go, I have to write my best of the web post! I figured I’d talk about a couple of my favorite running blogs, since that’s kind of what we’re all here for.

Runners Kitchen: This blog was the first running blog I ever read. It was right when I first started out running. My mom is a big runner/gym junkie and she always had a ton of super fast marathoning friends whom I admired but was kind of intimidated by. Megan is a super fast marathoning lady but she made running seem really accessible and fun at a time when just finishing the 3.5 mile loop around Prospect Park was a huge accomplishment to me. Also Megan lives in Brooklyn, which gets a big thumbs up from me!

Meals for Miles: This girl has the best attitude of almost anyone. Kelly is a student, like me, so she has to put up with tests and 200 pages of reading and all of the not-so-great parts of academics. But she always is really positive about it, even though she has a real grown up person job (perish the thought!) and trains for marathons on top of it! I admire her a lot, especially her ability to wake up at 6 a.m. and not knock peoples heads together for the rest of the day. I really have to work on that whole early rising thing…

I’ve got to go now, because I’ve got a date with a friend and pie in an hour! But I hope you’re all enjoying the first few days of the new year! Before you go, what are your favorite blogs to read? What do you do when you have a chilled out morning to yourself?

 

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

3 responses to “Take it Easy Tuesday and Best of the Web”

  1. Kelly says :

    aww, you are so sweet, thank you!! I am so jealous of your Tuesday – I’m back at work (even though classes don’t start till Jan 24) and it is so not as fun as vacation. Or making pie. YUM. Also, the more you wake up early, the easier it gets. Trust me! Going to bed earlier than a Grandma also helps…

    • collegegirlontherun says :

      It’s all true! I really hope that waking up early gets easier. I’m going to try to do more of it next semester, since I tend to be more productive in the morning and I also think I run better. Sadly, between the newspaper and college life in general a grandma bedtime isn’t always an option for me.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Bummer « collegegirlontherun - January 7, 2012

Leave a Reply

