A Long Long Run

Usually, my long runs are my favorite workout. At school, they are sometimes the only “me time” that I get all week long. I eagerly go to bed at 10:30 p.m. on Friday nights in anticipation of hopping out of the covers at 6:30 (I know most of you guys do that every day, but I’m a college kid and most of my classmates don’t wake up till noon!) and setting out for 2 plus hours of running. I love the excitement of plotting out my route before I leave and the satisfaction of coming home, chugging some chocolate milk, and hitting the books with that pleasant heavy/tired feeling in your legs that comes only after a 15 mile jaunt around the city.

But lately, I just haven’t been feeling it. I resent the way I have to plan my entire day around getting my heavy mileage done. I dread the long long hours of running alone. And I don’t like waking up early! I think maybe it’s because during winter break, every day is like a Saturday and I have all the “me time” I need or want. Instead of being a welcome break from the daily grind, my 2-hour long runs are an interruption to the regularly scheduled programming of baking, reading, meeting up with friends, and watching too much TV.

Todays long run felt especially long, mostly because it was COLD (Around 28 degrees when I set out!) and kinda boring. Normally for my long runs when I’m at home I’ll go across the Brooklyn Bridge and run around in Manhattan, but it was pretty windy this morning and I didn’t like the idea of being close to the water. Instead I did 4.5 loops of Prospect Park for a 16 mile run. It was rough, but 3 things kept me going:

1. Mint Chocolate GU: Normally I don’t like GU very much, but this stuff is great! It tastes exactly like Christmas.

2. My gorgeous craft running gloves: They’re regular gloves, but they also have a mitten flap that goes over your fingers, so it’s like wearing two pairs of gloves at once without having to wear bulky layers! These were a Hannukah present to myself and worth every penny! Plus they’re blue and pink, so how can you go wrong?

3. My podcasts: I had 2.5 hours of podcasts saved up for this run, and that’s really what got me through. Mostly I listened to Stuff You Missed in History Class (I’m a nerd, what can I say?), where I learned about interesting history topics from the first olympics (women were not allowed to even watch the olympics in Ancient Greece, on penalty of death!) to the Navajo code talkers.

These guys got me through the 4.5 loops and the freezing cold, and I’m not exhibiting any signs of frostbite yet, so that’s good!

The rest of my day consisted of working on my application for my major, reading, watching The Princess Bride (SUCH A GREAT MOVIE!), and snacking. My new favorite snack is granny smith apples sliced thin with cheddar cheese on top. I may or may not have consumed three apples today in exactly that manner.

Do you look forward to long runs? What gets you out the door and running when you don’t really want to be?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

2 responses to “A Long Long Run”

  1. Kelly says :

    those gloves look warm and amazing – I’m jealous. Nice running! I usually look forward to long runs – they’re my favorite. towards the end of marathon training in the fall I did get kind of sick of them though. I run first thing in the morning before i can talk myself out of going – that’s key!

  2. Michelle @ Michelle Does Germany says :

    When I am marathon training I look forward to my long runs most of the time. That’s about to start up pretty soon with half marathon training and then Berlin Marathon training will start sometime around the middle of May.

Leave a Reply

