Cookies and More Cookies

The whole spirit of the Christmas season is generally lost on my family (partly because we’re Jewish, but we forgot to light the menorah on Tuesday night so that’s not really an excuse either). We don’t have big family gatherings. We don’t give presents. We don’t visit the tree in Rockefeller Center or look at the window displays on 5th avenue.

But the one way we really do appreciate the Christmas spirit is through cookies. MASSIVE amounts of cookies. In the seven days since I’ve been home from school I’ve made five different kinds of cookies. Most of them we give away, but plenty find their way into my belly. In the interest of saving the rest of my family from gaining an extra 20 pounds during the 3 weeks that I’m home, I went over to my friend V’s house yesterday to help HER family make THEIR christmas cookies. We made Italian Rainbow cookies (I don’t have any pictures but you can hop on over to Smitten Kitchen for photos and the recipe!) and gingerbread men.

They came out pretty cute, if I do say so myself! My favorite is the one with the blue vest and the bow tie in the last photo. I was pretty proud of him! He has a wife with a blue dress and a purple bow (she’s upside down on the same tray) and we joked that they were dressed up to go to a party.

V drove me home (a Brooklyn girl who can drive! I just got my permit this summer and have no idea how to drive, so that’s a completely foreign concept to me) and we drove through Dyker Heights, a neighborhood of Brooklyn famous for their crazy Christmas decorations. Here’s an example:

If you can believe it, some of the lights are even more elaborate than the ones at this house! It used to be a tradition for my dad and I to go drive through Dyker Heights every year, but we’re busier now so I haven’t gone in a while. This was a great way to revisit an old tradition and feel a little bit of Christmas spirit.

What are your Christmas traditions? Do you like baking/decorating cookies? (Piping frosting is my new favorite activity!)

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “Cookies and More Cookies”

  1. Shannon from Healthiful Balance says :

    All those cookies look so awesome!

Leave a Reply

