Best of the Web

Hey there!

So I’m thinking of establishing a new Tuesday tradition called “Best of the Web,” which basically involves me posting about my favorite things on the internet. So here goes:

1. Most Powerful Images of 2011: I could literally spend all day looking at this. I have a secret passion for photojournalism (sorry print newspapers! I love you!) and if I didn’t actually hate photographing things so much (I don’t have the patience for it, I like to be IN the moment too much) my dream job would involve being a photographer for National Geographic. But seriously, these photos are beautiful. I love the very first one — it almost brought me to tears. I love newswriting and I want to make a career out of it, but seeing images like these makes me realize how insufficient words can be. Each photo tells an entire story, more succinctly and completely than any news article could. It’s amazing.

2. On a less serious note, this laughing baby  is the best cure for finals-induced depression.

3. I love Yotam Ottolenghi’s recipes. I literally want to cook/eat every recipe he’s written.

Running-wise, the past few days have been pretty straightforward. I did a 13 mile long run on Saturday, bringing my total mileage for last week to 38 miles, which is exciting for me! This week is a scale back week, which is good because I have three papers and a final to study for so I’m not going to have a lot of brain power/energy to push myself to run. The goal is to do a 6 mile tempo run (at 8:30 pace, NOT 7:55 pace this time!) on Thursday and a 10 miler on Saturday, on top of a speedy-ish 4 miler today and an easy 5 miler yesterday, which would bring me to 25 miles for the week. Seems kinda wimpy after almost 40 miles, but I’m happy to have the break.

Of course, since I can’t let a day go by without breaking out SOME sort of exercise clothes, I’m planning on heading to 7:15 yoga tomorrow morning. I don’t know why the university thinks that college students are going to wake up that early (I’m sure plenty of people are going to bed at the time, given that it is the last week of classes and papers/projects are due!) but I’ve been feeling kinda sore so I think yoga will be good. I’m also hoping that putting this decision in writing will help make me stick to it. Now that my readers (if you exist? Anyone?) know I’m waking up in 7.5 hours, I HAVE to get out of bed when my alarm goes off.

Alright, that’s it for now! I’ve got a 7:15 date with what’s guaranteed to be an almost-empty yoga studio!

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “Best of the Web”

  1. Kelly says :

    There’s a live camera of bulldog puppies that are only a few weeks old on YouTube. They basically sleep, play, and eat but I CAN’T STOP WATCHING!

Leave a Reply

