Home

After three months of school, I’m finally back in NYC and loving it. It feels so good to be home. I’ve missed my parents and my house a lot this semester (oh the sheer joy of showering without shoes on!) but even more I just miss New York. I can always call my mom when things get rough at school, but there’s no way of replicating my city. New York is simply unique.

Though I got home Wednesday night, Thursday was occupied by Thanksgiving preparations. My mom and I are always in charge of desserts for my family’s dinner and we went all out this year: three kinds of biscotti, triple chocolate chip cranberry oatmeal cookies, pumpkin pie, and a bourbon apple cake from the New York Times. (Not all of it was for us — the apple cake we baked for my mom’s friend’s family, though I would have gladly kept it for myself, it smelled so good!)

But this morning I had a grand reunion with my  city via a 17 mile run (eep!) to Union Square and back. This is a new mileage PR for me and it was really exciting! I was definitely tired by the end — coming back over the Manhattan bridge was a struggle, and I just felt like the uphill kept going and going with no end in sight — but I feel so great now. I loved being able to run through all the neighborhoods in downtown Manhattan where I spent so much time in high school and just be a part of the early morning hustle and bustle of the city once again.

Here’s a map of the run:

I started out by Prospect Park, ran down past the Gowanus Canal and along Court Street to the Brooklyn Bridge.

Graffiti on a construction site near Borough Hall – Brooklyn graffiti is so philosophical!

Looking towards Manhattan with 14 miles to go!

After going up and over the bridge I turned left towards the bottom tip of Manhattan. I made a point of running past the World Trade Center memorial, because I hadn’t seen it since it was dedicated earlier this fall. I couldn’t get close enough to really see the memorial, but I stopped for a moment by the site to reflect and feel sad. That day was one of the most horrible days I can remember because of the friends that my family lost. It defined my childhood as a New Yorker.

In a less serious manner, I also swung by Zuccotti Park to check in on the Occupy Wall Street protesters. I’d seen the ones in D.C., but there didn’t seem to be anyone in the park in New York. I guess they had been kicked out by the police.

I ran all the way down to Battery Park, past the lines for the ferries to Liberty Island and Ellis Island, and then back up along the Hudson River to Hudson River Park. I went biking here a LOT this summer and it was fun to be back. I also saw this quote at a construction site, which I loved:

Totally the snobby New Yorker perspective. May or may not be how I feel…

I went up the west side to 14th street, then across through Union Square, and down Broadway. By the time I got to Houston Broadway was SUPER crowded with Black Friday shoppers so I kind of zig zagged through smaller streets to get to Chinatown and the Manhattan Bridge. I also a took a GU sometime during this time. It was espresso flavor, which I’d never had before! (Normally I just eat vanilla or chocolate). I also bought a mint chocolate flavored one on my most recent expedition to the running store, so I’ll try that one on my next long run.

The Brooklyn Bridge looking majestic as always!

Can I ride the carousel too? – In Brooklyn Bridge Park

Finally I crossed back into Brooklyn and ran through Brooklyn Bridge Park and along the waterfront till I got home. I’ve been hungry and thirsty all day today and I probably ate my weight at dinner tonight. Right now my legs are feeling a bit heavy and tired but not sore or achey, which is great! Though I should probably wait and see how I’m feeling tomorrow before I get too confident.

I hope that your thanksgivings have all been as wonderful as mine. What is your favorite part about going home to visit your family?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. 26.2 « collegegirlontherun - March 20, 2012
  2. I’m HOME! « collegegirlontherun - April 5, 2012

Leave a Reply

