Tuesday Things I’m Loving

So I haven’t actually gone running forever (it’s really only been 2 days, but it feels like much longer. I’m an addict) but it’s been a pretty awesome past two days nonetheless. First I got to be part of major breaking national news (eep!) and second, in the wind down to Thanksgiving break I actually haven’t had that much homework and have had lots of time to just casually hang out with friends! Hanging out? In college? What a foreign concept!

In the spirit of spreading the holiday joy, here are a few of the things I’m loving:

1. The Wailin’ Jennys: Their song “One Voice” is so pretty! Also “The Parting Glass.” They make awesome studying/paper writing music. Very calming when the little person who’s in charge of filing information in my brain seems to be running around and bouncing off the inside of my skull.

2. The Tragedy of First Position: For when the little man in my head gives up on filing and collapses in the middle of my brain and cries. This cheers him up.

3. Tastespotting: As Thanksgiving draws ever nearer and the prospect of homemade baked goods cooked in my mom’s convection oven becomes tantalizingly close to reality, I have become obsessed with finding recipes to make as soon as I get home. Salted caramel apple pie? Yes! Cranberry fig chutney? YES! Barley risotto with mushrooms, manchego and thyme? YES YES YES! I miss food that doesn’t still have a lingering taste of its former life in a frozen plastic box.

Thats it for now! I’ll write back soon, hopefully with actual running updates next time!

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “Tuesday Things I’m Loving”

  1. Kelly says :

    Oh wow, I’m very jealous of your mom’s cooking! I heart Thanksgiving. Hope you have a great one!

Leave a Reply

