Oh Hey There

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?

This past week was one of the most jam-packed, hectic, crazy emotional weeks I’ve had this semester, even though it was the first one in a long while in which there hasn’t been a test or paper or big scary assignment of some kind. Most of this stress can be attributed to the newspaper, but a lot of it was also just my own personal craziness.

Either way, it’s over now, and somehow in between my many freak outs I managed to fit in 36 miles of running, which is  a new weekly mileage PR for me! It was a bit of a struggle to fit all the miles in, because I’m in a little bit of a running rut at the moment. When I woke up this morning with the prospect of 15 miles ahead of me, I almost considered not doing it. I kept telling myself that I had work to do, and that nothing was going to go wrong if I missed one long run. On days like today, the marathon seems so far away, and its easy to fall into the trap of believing that each workout doesn’t even matter. But I’m proud of myself for eventually forcing myself out the door and running those 15 miles (15.25, if we’re being precise).

Here’s the map of the run for those who are interested. I did two loops of the Mall, which was nice, but by the time I got around to the second loop there were SO MANY TOURISTS. Next time I either have to get up earlier or find someplace else to run after 10 a.m.!

As far as weekly recaps go, I did most of my running on the C&O Canal Path because we’ve had beautiful fall weather and this trail is the best place to experience the loveliness that is D.C. in late November. The trail was cushioned with damp, yellow fallen leaves and the trees ranged from lingering leafy-green to flaming orange to solemn brown and bare. By the time I get back from Thanksgiving break, they’ll probably  all be devoid of leaves and the temperatures wills start to be less run-friendly than they are now. But it was a great week to be running, and the environment was inspiring even if the marathon wasn’t giving me my usual running mojo. Here are some pictures:

Look at the crane! (Heron? I’m not really up on my bird watching knowledge…)

This coming week should be a bit easier running wise, because I have less school (WHOOT THANKSGIVING!) and I know I’ll be inspired to run once I’m home with my mom and back in my familiar Prospect Park. I miss Brooklyn a lot, and I can’t wait to be home. I’m hoping to hit 38 miles (eek!)

Thats all for now! Hopefully it won’t take another week to write my next post…

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Leave a Reply

