Why I’m Super Cool

It’s 9:30 on a Friday night and I’m sitting in bed in my pajamas, fully intending to go to sleep in the next hour. Outside my window people are already drunkenly singing (already at 9:30, come on guys!) but honestly I’m quite happy, comfily in bed watching Gilmore Girls reruns. Clearly I’m the life of every party I attend. Super cool!

And the reason for the early bedtime? I have a longish run tomorrow (10 miles, funny how in the context of marathon training 10 miles doesn’t feel long any more) and a meeting at 9:00 a.m. Thus my alarm clock is set for 6:30. Whew. I know that that’s not early for a lot of people who have real life jobs, but I’m pretty sure I’ll be the only undergrad awake on campus.

In other running news, I had an extremely successful track workout yesterday! I did 4 Yasso 800s, but instead of Yasso 800s they were kind of just super fast 800 meter repeats. I headed up to the track with my friend K- who hijacked my watch and told me to just run as fast as I could and then he would tell me how fast we had been running afterwards. K- ran track in high school and thinks that makes him the authority on all things running-related. He’s never run 15 miles before, though, so I can maintain some running superiority.

Anyway, here are the stats for the workout:

  • 1 mile warmup
  • 1st 800: 3 min 35 sec <– Woah! If these had been Yasso 800s I should have been running 4 min repeats. Maybe this means I can run a 3 hour 35 min marathon? Probs not…
  • 2nd 800: 3 min 40 sec
  • 3rd 800: 3 min 36 sec
  • 4th 800: 3 min 26 sec
  • 4 mile cooldown

I’m especially  happy about that last one. K- said that I had to keep up with him for the first loop of the track, which I did even though it was so fast it made me want to throw up. Afterwards we cooled down for 4 miles along the Capitol Crescent Trail.

Otherwise life has been pretty dull. Lots of school, lots of homework, LOTS and LOTS of articles for the newspaper. (The news never sleeps and apparently that means I can’t either…) I did make some super delicious banana cinnamon oatmeal cookies tonight! I kind of made up the recipe out of my head and I’m pretty pleased with how they came out.

  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 1/2 overripe bananas, lightly mashed

Combine the wet ingredients in one bowl and the dry ingredients in another. Mix dry ingredients into wet. Arrange tablespoon-sized balls on a cookie sheet and bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.

These are delicious and I may or may not have eaten four of them (they’re pretty small!) It’s okay, because I’ll need fuel for my longish run tomorrow, right?

Alright, that’s all for now. I have a date with a 6:30 a.m. alarm clock tomorrow morning!

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Leave a Reply

