Why I Run

Today I had one of those runs that remind me exactly why I do this crazy thing called running. It’s so easy to get caught up in the mentality of hitting your weekly mileage goals and running at a certain speed, but sometimes its nice to just ditch the watch and stop counting the mile markers and just GO.

That’s what I did today. I ran for about an hour and ten minutes, which I’m guessing puts my mileage for today somewhere between 7 and 8 miles, but I really have no idea how far I went or how fast I was going. I started the run off slowly with a little pain on the top of my left foot and so the first few miles weren’t very fun. But the weather was beautiful (about 60 degrees) and the sun was filtering slanting yellow gold light through the trees on the C&O Canal Path and I decided to keep at it. Though I didn’t have my watch I did bring my iPod on the run and listened to a few episodes of my new favorite podcast called Stuff You Missed in History Class. (If you are a history buff or just like knowing a lot of random information, listen to this podcast! You will learn all kinds of interesting things about everything from Presidential Perks to the truth behind the story of the Pied Piper of Hamlin. It’s a blast.) The canal trail was peaceful and beautiful and I completely lost track of time and place, just enjoying the podcast and the feeling of being in motion. And after about an hour, foot pain gone and mind cleared, I returned to campus ready to take on school, the newspaper, and all the rest of it. And in case I get too comfortable running slowly, I have some Yasso 800s planned for either tomorrow or Thursday (depending on how much work I get done tonight). So I guess I better just enjoy my fun runs while I can.

That’s all for now. I’ll post again later with my eats for the day.

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Leave a Reply

