Dining Hall Doldrums

As anyone who has been to college can probably attest, traditional dining hall food leaves a lot to be desired. When a single kitchen needs to serve more than 7,000 18 to 21 year olds a day, a lot of overly processed, unhealthy, tasteless foods are generally the end result. It gets a lot worse for vegetarians who try to be health conscious but don’t really like salad all that much. (Aka, me.)

I’ve noticed that as my training ramps up and I find myself eating a lot more, I don’t always eat the right things. I’m not wolfing down wings and potato chips and beer the way a lot of students do, but my diet isn’t exactly healthy and well-rounded either. I consume way too much snack food like pretzels and crackers and things and not enough fruits and vegetables. And I’m starting to feel it in my skin and bones and energy levels.

So my goal for this week, starting now, is to keep track of everything I eat and try and have at least 4 servings of fruit and 3 servings of vegetables every day. I also want to cut back on the cookie/cracker/snack food consumption. Hopefully the obligation to post what I eat on this blog will motivate me to try and eat better. I should probably say that this is NOT about losing weight or counting calories, but instead about making sure that I’m getting my healthy share of fruits and veggies. I care more about making sure I’m eating healthy than worrying about pants size, especially since I’m going to be running 30-40 miles a week.

Whew. Glad that’s out of the way. In other (running-related) news, I completed a 15 miler on Saturday! I started out on campus, crossed the Key Bridge, ran 8 or so miles on the Mt. Vernon Trail and then crossed back over the Arlington Memorial Bridge and ran a loop around the National Mall, finishing by running up Pennsylvania Avenue and M street. This run included all my favorite sights–the Lincoln Memorial, the Tidal Basin, the new MLK memorial, the Capitol Building, and the White House–plus some new ones, like Reagan Airport. It was quite an adventure and even though I felt a little lonely for parts of it (2 and a half hours is a long time to run with no one to talk to) I really enjoyed it.

The view from the Key Bridge

The Mount Vernon Trail

Planes getting ready for takeoff!

The Tidal Basin and the Jefferson Memorial – one of my favorite views in D.C.

The Martin Luther King Memorial

I hope everyone had a great weekend and congratulations to anyone who ran the NYC Marathon! I wish I could have been there cheering you on!

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Leave a Reply

