Missing Home

For those of you who were maybe not aware (perhaps you’ve been living under a rock for the past week?) Sunday is the NYC Marathon. As a native New Yorker, watching the marathon from 4th Avenue in Brooklyn has been a November tradition for me ever since I was a little kid. I remember watching Paula Radcliffe speed past in 2007, right after she had had baby, and being so excited when she eventually won the race. Later on in the morning my mom’s running friends would pass by and we would shout and cheer for them till our voices were hoarse. I didn’t really start running until I got to college, so I always watched these races as a New Yorker, not a runner. The event was less about the actual running and more about the excitement of being part of a city-wide tradition, joining my fellow New Yorkers out in the streets of our city to cheer on runners from down the block and around the world.

But now, reading everyone’s blog posts about race week prep, about attending the expo and picking out an outfit, I am filled with jealousy. I want to be home to watch the race as I always have, but even more, I want to be RUNNING this race. I’ve got a marathon in D.C. picked out and ready to go for next March, and I’m unbelievably excited for it, but in my heart the ultimate dream will always be New York. I can’t wait for the November day when that dream will finally come true. That said, good luck to all the runners who will be racing on Sunday. I’ll be beaming good thoughts your way.

In other news, I had a thoroughly unexciting easy run Thursday morning along the Capital Crescent Trail. Just 5 miles out and back, but there was beautiful weather and (dun dun dun dun!) another wildlife sighting! Only this time it was a gorgeous heron and not a terrifying snake.

And here are some more pictures from the trail

So pretty! I love fall and I don’t ever want the cold weather to come. I guess that’s one benefit to living in D.C. — it stays warm a LOT longer than it does at home.

That’s all for now! Have an awesome Friday everyone!

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Leave a Reply

