Tempo by the Numbers

Total miles run: 7.5

Tempo miles: 5

Pace: 8:42 min/mile

Wild creatures spotted: 3

Percent of wild creatures that were no longer alive: 66.7

Seriously! Who knew that there would be so much wildlife on the Capital Crescent Trail? We’re in Washington D.C., which despite being less awesome than New York is still a pretty big metropolitan area. I saw a LIVE snake, a dead mouse and a squished (eww) toad. You can bet I screamed when I saw the snake also. What can I say? I’m a city girl. The extent of my interactions with nature growing up amounted to throwing crumbs at pigeons. I definitely do NOT react well to unexpected wildlife, dead or alive.

Despite the animal excitement, this run was pretty basic.  It was a little bit slower than I would have liked, but I was feeling a little light headed because I didn’t have time to eat before the workout. Never a good idea to run while hungry! Still, I’m happy that I was able to keep the pace somewhat speedier than usual and the weather was gorgeous: 50 degrees and sunny blue skies.

Off to do homework now! Next time I post, I will understand the Arabic passive tense (hopefully!)

 

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

2 responses to “Tempo by the Numbers”

  1. Kelly says :

    Nice running! Yikes, I am glad there aren’t snakes in Central Park because I would freak out on a regular basis. We do have the occasional raccoon though! They are cute from a distance… happy studying! 🙂

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Missing Home « collegegirlontherun - November 4, 2011

Leave a Reply

