TGIF

Hi folks! It’s Friday, and never in my life has the phrase “TGIF” been so necessary. I don’t know what I would do if this week had been any longer. Friday could literally not come fast enough.

There are a lot of reasons why this week kind of sucked. First of all, it was the peak of midterms season, and I had five gazillion tests and papers and other joyful academic things to study/write. I also got sick–the worst thing about college is that when one person gets a bug the entire undergraduate population gets it as well–and found myself taking several naps throughout the day, making it very hard to study properly for my tests or do any of my other homework.

But I think the hardest thing about this week was not being able to follow my training plan. This week represented the first official week of National Marathon 2012 preparation and I didn’t do any of the runs I meant to accomplish, including missing two speed workouts. Not really the most auspicious way to start off training. I spent a lot of time over the past three days trying to figure out how to get my runs in between midterms and work in the newspaper office, but ultimately it never happened. It was impossible to drag myself out of bed in the morning to run, and equally impossible to force myself to put on my running shoes after a day of cramming and tests. Looking back, I wound up letting stress about not running add to my stress about everything else, instead of taking it easy when my body was obviously screaming at me to (thus the need for naps). While that definitely isn’t a good thing, I’m glad that I recognize it and I’m going to try and cut myself more slack in the future. Running a marathon in college isn’t going to be easy, but running a marathon is never easy, period. If it was, I wouldn’t want to do it so badly.

Luckily, the week is over, I don’t THINK I failed any of my midterms, and it is Halloween weekend! I’ve got a 14 mile run on tab for tomorrow (hopefully involving exploring some new terrain over on the Virginia side of the river!) and a Halloween party for the newspaper tomorrow night. And then Sunday I’ll be spectating at the Marine Corps Marathon, which runs right through my neighborhood twice! In spite of all the work I have to catch up on, I think it’ll be an awesome weekend.

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Leave a Reply

