Midterm Madness

Midterm madness. It has descended upon me like a plague of locusts. Or something else equally horrifying. Three days, two tests to take, one paper to write, one newspaper to publish. Do. Not. Panic.

Other than my run this morning and a brief expedition to the newspaper office for a meeting, I have literally spent my entire day in the same breakout room in the business school building. PSA of the day: 11 hours of sitting on your butt is more painful than you would imagine. My knees and back are killing me right now.

In other, more cheerful news, I fell for fall this weekend while grocery shopping and bought a can of pumpkin puree. I tried stirring that into my oatmeal for the first time a couple days ago and it was AMAZING! I just added a little brown sugar and pumpkin pie spice and it was the best thing after my crisp morning run. I feel like that’s very food-blogger-trendy of me, but oh well.

I had a couple meh runs in the past two days, another 5 mile loop around the monuments and a 6.5 miler this morning on the Capitol Crescent Trail. Both were beautiful — we’ve had gorgeous fall-y weather the past couple days — but my body wasn’t cooperating. This morning’s run was supposed to be a tempo (marathon training has started! I’ll post THE PLAN soon) but my legs weren’t really feeling it and I was so stressed out about midterms that I decided I just wanted to enjoy this run rather than stress myself out about pacing. So instead of stressing about time I got to stress about how I was being lazy and not running fast. Good times.

Photos from the run on the Mall. I always forget how awesome it is that I live in DC till I remember that doing a loop around the Washington Monument and running up the steps of the Lincoln Memorial is a routine part of my week. Pretty cool, huh?

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. TGIF « collegegirlontherun - October 29, 2011

Leave a Reply

