Good Ideas

Sometimes I have really good ideas. Putting pretzels in oatmeal cookies? Good idea! Adding toffee bits, chocolate chips, and butterscotch to those cookies? Even better idea!

These cookies were literally one of the most delicious things I’ve ever baked. I made two varieties, one with just oatmeal, pretzels, and chocolate chips and another batch with all of that other junk. My friends liked the every-thing-but-the-kitchen-sink ones, but I tend to lean towards the simpler (if such a thing can be said of cookies that already have pretzels in them) version.

Other good ideas: a gorgeous 10 mile run that took me through D.C. and Virginia! It was wondrous weather for a run this morning, blue skies streaked with clouds, a crisp 55 degrees. I set out with my neighbor N-, who was going to run the first 5 miles or so with me. As soon as we got to the National Mall (hands down best place to run on a Saturday morning — there aren’t a lot of tourists and a ton of runners! It’s like the athletes have the monuments all to themselves) we ran (literally!) into a girl in our grade who I kind-of-sort-of know. I said hi and she turned around and asked if she could go running with us. M- (my new friend) was running an 18-miler because she’s training for the Richmond Marathon. We chatted about marathon training and DC transportation failures and Harpers Ferry and things we did when we were in middle school. Plus M- showed me how to get to the Mount Vernon trail, which runs along the Virginia side of the Potomac river and is super gorgeous. I am definitely going to have to explore it some more. It runs all the way down to Mount Vernon, which was George Washington’s home. Sounds like a running day trip to me!

The view across the Potomac back towards the Key Bridge and school!

Sadly, in between the running and the cookie baking there have been some not so great things. Namely:

Paper writing

Midterm Studying (I had some fun getting the birds to fly around my head in photo booth!)

Arabic vocabulary memorization.

Sometimes college seems like a terrible idea and I have to try really hard to remember why I like this stuff. Thank the heavens midterms season ends for me next week.

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “Good Ideas”

  1. Liz (Little Bitty Bakes) says :

    Ohh, now I see what you were saying with loving pretzels lately – yum! I love that you really loaded these cookies with good stuff.

Leave a Reply

