Rainy Running

I love running in the rain.

This morning I woke up at 6:40 (unheard of for most college students!) in hopes of getting a 6 or 7 mile run in before my first class. It would have been pretty hard considering I didn’t get to sleep til about 1 am last night, but I was meeting up with my good friend B- (who is running the Marine Corps Marathon in two weeks!) for the second half. Unfortunately, it tends to be dark at 6:40 in the morning in the fall, a fact that I forgot until I looked outside my window to decide what I was going to wear and saw that it was pitch black and raining. Not really the wisest weather to go running alone in, so I waited til about  7:15 to head out, meaning that I was only able to run about an extra mile before meeting up with B- for an easy 4.5 mile run.

The view of the quad as I left my dorm – sorry for the poor photo quality, my phone is a cheap flip phone without a fancy camera!

Nevertheless, I loved that single, rainy, early-morning mile. The whole campus was quiet, still resting peacefully under the blanket of darkness. As the sky slowly lightened it faded from pitch black to a muted bluish gray, the color of a bruise a couple of days old. The walkways were slick with wet fallen leaves, all shades of orange-yellow-brown, shiny with rain. By the time I reached the front gates to catch up with B-, people were beginning to emerge from their dorms, rainboots slapping softly against the wet brick paths that run across the front of campus. They were subdued, the unfortunate souls with 8 am class. I felt incredibly awake and alive next to them, energized by the rain and my run.

About sarahk48

I'm an aspiring journalist and an avid runner racing (and reading, and baking, and occasionally studying) her way through college. This blog is a record of my marathon training, cooking creations, and general thoughts on the state of the universe.

One response to “Rainy Running”

  1. Rach@ Girl on the Run says :

    Waking up that early to run in the dark rain takes some serious dedication – especially in college. congrats!

Leave a Reply

